City Government

The elected City Council consists of a mayor and 5 council persons.  Terms are 4 years for each office.  The council sets city policy, enacts ordinances, and approves budgets.  The mayor presides at council meetings and is the chief executive of the city responsible to carry out policy, enforce ordinances, and conduct the business of the city.  At council meetings, the mayor votes only in cases of tie votes by the other council persons, except in certain cases specified by state law.

The Planning Commission is a five member citizen board appointed by the Mayor with the advice and consent of the City Council. The Planning Commission provides analysis and recommendations to the City Council on matters dealing with the present and future development of the City, in accordance with the goals and policies of the City’s General Plan. This includes reviewing, approving, or recommending to the City Council for requests for general plan amendments, zone changes, subdivisions, and text amendments.

The Board of Adjustment considers requests for variances from various zoning and other ordinances.

The Parks and Recreation Committee consists of appointed members who propose and oversee recreational facilities and programs within the City.

The Finance Committee consists of appointed members who assist the mayor, council and finance officer in developing budgets and in evaluating the financial aspects of proposed projects.